Papaya: The Biggest Letdown of All Fruits

I’m not one to usually try “exotic” fruit (more of an apples-oranges-grapes kind of girl), but we had some papayas at our house and I decided to give it a try. My, what a shock I was in for.

On the outside, the papaya looks beautiful. A bright orange with a bunch of black seeds when you cut into the fruit, the papaya looks like a treat from paradise. Think of a bright, sandy beach with palm trees hanging over your head as you bask in the tropical wonder.

Once you take a bite, your fantasy is destroyed, to put it lightly. How can a fruit that looks so appealing taste so disgusting? (A quick Google search will confirm that I’m not the only one who thinks papayas taste and smell like vomit)

Naturally, I did some more research and thought I’d share some interesting tidbits I found about the papaya. None of which explain the nasty taste / smell though.

  1. Young papaya fruit contains enzyme called papain. Papain has been used as a natural meat tenderizer for thousands of years. (We need to find the enyzme that kills any hope of enjoying the fruit…)
  2. Papaya seeds resemble edible pepper. They can be ground and used as a substitute for black pepper. (Without the vomit taste I hope…)
  3. A small papaya contains about 300 percent of the recommended Vitamin C per day. (And 300 percent of the recommended gross smell / taste intake per day…)
  4. In many parts of the world, unripe papaya has been used for centuries by women as a natural contraceptive and to induce abortion. (Will admit that’s pretty cool)
  5. There are two varieties of papaya, Hawaiian and Mexican. The Mexican papaya can weigh as much as ten pounds while the Hawaiian usually weighs about a pound. (I wonder if one smells better…)

Anyhow, I’ve heard that you either love papaya or can’t go near it. Looks like I’m in the latter camp. FullSizeRender-7

Leave a Reply

